You may not understand what I feel!

If you will indulge me for just a bit to get away from what my friend Mr. Gil Santos calls the “toy department of life” to let you know how I feel.Back on that Thursday September past, when Mr. Barack Obama accepted the Democratic nomination for President of the United States, I never thought that I would be as emotional about what was happening in our country as I was. I was actually tearing up. I said to the person I care most about, who was with me, who is white, that you really cannot understand why this makes me cry with tempered happiness. On that day I didn’t really go into detail about what I was feeling. I just took it all in by myself. Being a Black man of 51 years of age, I remember so well, spring 1968, After MLK’s Assassination, being in my father’s apartment, over a hardware store. Dad with one of his rifles in hand, hanging out the window just in case of the rioters came in the downstairs door. Outside the rioters had broken the windows of the hardware store and were pouring paint onto innocent people in the cars as they drove up and down Blue Hill Avenue in Roxbury. I remember going to high school in the early 70’s in Cambridge. A private school, that really took my naiveté away from me. I really came of age in that school, Charles River Academy, which would shape my brain and make me think for myself and a bit outspoken and unedited. For which I thank them for tremendously. In that school, as high schoolers are wont to do, I got into fights with others. And in those fights, most times it began because the other combatant had used the “lightning word”. In the early 80’s I was sitting in a bar in Mansfield, MA and for absolutely no reason whatsoever, the lightning word was directed at me again. Now I was always a pretty big guy and when young, I was pretty excitable. I immediately charged the guy and my friends eventually separated us.I say all that to try to explain what I was feeling last night when ABC’s Charles Gibson said at the stroke of 11pm Tuesday, that Barack Obama will be the 44th President of the United States of America. When he uttered those words, chills went down my back. Goosebumps everywhere and I couldn’t stop the tears that had started. This is not about whether or not Barack Obama will be a good President. No one knows that. It’s about what I thought would not, and could not happen in this late baby boomers lifetime. The People of the United States of America elected a young black charismatic man to the highest office in the land and the free world. President. If you have read this, I thank you for your time and hope you understand what I am feeling today. Immense pride and accomplishment for our country.

-Ric Duarte

About Ric Duarte

Just your average loyal Bruins Fan with things to say about the team!
This entry was posted in Archive. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

